Paneer Methi Makhani (with homemade Paneer)

Ever since I first heard that making Paneer is something a home cook can do I have been itching to do it. I mean, making cheese?! How cool! Coincidentally, my first attempt was the same day I went to a cheese and wine pairing course at Formaggio Kitchen so I got to learn a lot about enzymes, curds, whey, etc. That stuff is all dead sexy to me.

I used this Paneer recipe, from US Masala’s site, which has step by step photos as well as very detailed instructions. You couldn’t mess it up if you tried. The process was really fun and the final product delicious. It’s amazing how much milk you need to make a small amount of Paneer (good recipe to keep in mind if you have milk you need to use up!)

Once the Paneer was made I had to find a way to eat it other than devouring the little cubes straight up. I decided on Paneer Methi Makhani, from the same site. I surprisingly had most of the ingredients on hand except for the Asafoetida but with just a pinch of that called for I decided to omit it. This was an easy, delicious dish that put my homemade Paneer to great use. I can’t wait to try some other Paneer recipes, especially Saag Paneer. Nom nom.

I had enough leftovers for a few days and then with my last day’s worth I did a lunch swap with a coworker and scored some sushi out of the deal. I think it was a win-win situation.

20120225-094216.jpg

20120225-094228.jpg

Leave a Reply

