Peanut Butter Pie

The first time I ever heard of Peanut Butter Pie was when I asked my ex what he wanted me to make him for his birthday the first year we were together. He insisted he disliked cakes, tarts, and sweets in general (shocking that didn’t work out) but when pressed he said he wanted his mom’s Peanut Butter Pie. I assumed this was some sort of secret family recipe that had been passed down through generations but when I called his mom she laughed saying she got the recipe off of a box or something like that. She promptly emailed it to me, copied below.

Ex’s mom had a recipe for a crust but said not to bother and just to buy a store bought graham cracker or chocolate crust. My expectations were fairly low as it just seemed a little too easy and simple but boy was I wrong. I have since made this pie numerous times for both casual potlucks to nicer dinners (single servings kick it up a notch). I used Ina Garten’s pie crust recipe for this round as I had some left over from a previous project but if you are making a single pie I would go with the store bought graham cracker crust. So quick, easy, and delicious. Yum.

Mom’s Peanut Butter Pie

½ cup peanut butter
½ cup 10X (confectioners) sugar
3 oz. Cream cheese
8 oz. Cool Whip
Hershey’s Syrup for drizzling

Blend well first 3 ingredients. Stir in Cool Whip. Pour in graham cracker crust. Layer with Hershey’s Syrup. Top with Cool Whip. Drizzle syrup over top.

Refrigerate.

Devour.

20120226-114427.jpg

Leave a Reply

