Doughnuts / Donuts

Donuts or Doughnuts? Who cares, get in my belly!

In December I had won the office cookie contest and was awarded a $50 gift card to Crate and Barrel. For months I pored over the website trying to decide what I’d treat myself to. A griddle? Think of all the seared meats and pancakes I could make… A potato ricer? I’ve always wanted to make gnocchi… New cookies sheets? I’d be able to bake even more cookies than now… Extra knives? I always seem to be running short as I only have 4… Ultimately I settled on some small practical clear glass bowl, as my Tupperware seems to always go missing (ahem, you know who you are), and a totally frivolous donut pan.

I received my package last week and couldn’t wait to make donuts. Sadly, most donut recipes I was coming across were deep fried (yum!) which wouldn’t work with this fabulous new donut
pan (and I have an aversion to deep frying) so had to dig deeper. I found this recipe on With a Grateful Prayer and a Thankful Heart’s website for Baked Donuts.

I don’t think this is a traditional donut as those seem to have yeast in them, like bread does. The texture / consistency of these were much more cake-like then a deep fried donut but still very good. You just can’t really compare apples to oranges, or baked cakes to fried dough in this case. I tried three different toppings, posted at the bottom, and I think I liked the Cinnamon Sugar one the best. I took the leftovers into work as they were still pretty good the following day although the donuts with the chocolate glaze do not travel well. I repeat, they do not travel well. The powdered sugar ones seem to have absorbed most of the sugar the following day so the only ones that looked close to as they do in this photo were the Cinnamon Sugar ones. My coworkers said they all tasted pretty good though so that’s good (after overdosing on donuts the night before I didn’t test them out again the morning after).

Baked Cake Doughnuts
recipe found on Wilton Doughnut Pan package
makes 12 regular-sized doughnuts

2 cups cake flour, sifted
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tsp salt
3/4 cup buttermilk
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2 Tbsp butter, melted

Preparation:
1. Preheat oven to 425°F. Spray the 6-cavity donut pan with nonstick cooking spray.
2. Sift together cake flour, sugar, baking powder, nutmeg, and salt in a large mixing bowl. Whisk in buttermilk, eggs, and butter and beat until just combined. Fill each donut cup until about 2/3 full.
3. Bake 7-9 minutes, or until the top of the donuts spring back when touched. Cool in pan for about 4-5 minutes before removing from pan. Complete donuts with either a dusting of powdered sugar, glaze, or cinnamon-sugar topping. Best served fresh on the same day.

Toppings

Cinnamon Sugar
2 Tbs. sugar
1 Tbs. ground cinnamon
2 Tbs. butter, melted

In a shallow bowl or plate, stir together the sugar and cinnamon. Dip the baked doughnut in melted butter (I used a pastry brush to apply the butter so I could get a lighter coverage) and roll in the mixture to coat.

Chocolate Glaze
1/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 Tbs. melted butter
1 Tbs. corn syrup
1 tsp, hot water

In medium bowl, microwave chocolate chips, butter and corn syrup on 50% power for 1 minute, stirring frequently until completely melted. Stir in1 tsp. hot water, until the glaze is thick and smooth. Add another tsp. hot water if the glaze is too thick. Use immediately to glaze doughnuts.

Confectioners’ Sugar Doughnuts
Put 2/3 cup of confectioners’ Sugar in a resealable plastic bag. Add a doughnut, close the bag, and shake to coat. Repeat with remaining doughnuts.

20120215-131126.jpg

Leave a Reply

