Oyako-Don

While surfing one of my favorite websites, Tastespotting (tied in first place with Anthropologie), last night I came across this recipe for Oyako-Don. I typically avoid trying Asian inspired recipes as I can never find all the ingredients I need or don’t have the proper equipment but this one seemed pretty doable. I rented a Zip Car and ran over to Shaws to get what I needed.

Side note: Today was also the day when I realized that an hour to pick up the car, go to the market, find parking, shop, check out, drop everything off at my place, and return the car is not enough time. Well, it is enough time but it means I am driving like a maniac, hitting curbs trying to park, dropping things, and ultimately leaving groceries in the car after returning it.

I couldn’t find super dashi, or any kind of dashi, at Shaws so headedto Whole Foods once I dealt with the car debacle. Whole Foods also didn’t have super dashi but, unwilling to give up, I pulled out my trusty iPhone and found a recipe for it. I just needed kombu and katuobushi. I hadn’t heard of kombu before but am familiar with katuobushi, which are bonito flakes (easier to pronounce) . I used this recipe for Kombu and Katuobushi Dashi. It was super easy (is that where super dashi comes from?) and I now have plenty of kombu and katuobushi to make as much dashi as I can eat for the rest of my life.

I like this explanation of the dish’s name: “Oyako means “parent and child” because both chicken and egg are used in this dish. Don comes from the word Donburi, a “large bowl” in which savoury rice or hot noodles with soup are served.” – Hideo Dekura

This recipe is easy, assuming you can find the ingredients, tasty, filling, and I bet it will make great leftovers for work tomorrow.

Oyako-Don (Adapted from To Food with Love)

Ingredients:
200g (7 oz) chicken thigh fillet
1 tablespoon mirin

Dashi Mixture:
3 tbsp light soy sauce
1 tbsp caster sugar
1 tbsp sake
1/3 cup dashi
5-6 green onions, white and green parts, thinly sliced plus extra for garnish
2 eggs, beaten
2 bowls cooked short-grained sushi rice
Method:
  1. Cut chicken into bite-sized pieces and marinate with mirin.
  2. Combine ingredients for dashi mixture.
  3. Pour a little oil in a small pan and fry chicken until browned and cooked
  4. Add green onions and fry until softened.
  5. Add dashi mixture and bring to a boil, then reduce heat.
  6. Pour beaten eggs in a circular motion over the simmering mixture. Set over low heat till egg is just cooked.
  7. Place a portion of hot rice into each bowl and slide half of the chicken and egg toppings over the rice in each bowl. Garnish with extra spring onions and serve hot.
Leave a Reply

